I’m Eating That….?

Yesterday, I had a fun afternoon with my godchild.  She wanted to bake cupcakes, so we did.  Now, normally, I am a “bake from scratch” kind of gal, but due to time contraints and the fact that I was going to be working with a 4 year old, we went to the market and bought a box of Betty Crocker red velvet cake mix and some cream cheese frosting instead.  Now, let me tell you first of all that you really need to be careful with the cake mix because the red coloring stains everything!

However, it’s really the frosting that got me steaming….

Cream cheese frosting is so simple to make…cream cheese, confectioners’ sugar, butter, and vanilla.  Now, look at what the frosting that we bought was made of:

I didn’t look at the ingredients until after we frosted the cupcakes.  I don’t know what I expected the ingredients to be, but I suppose I was blissfully ignorant and expected some sort of dairy/sugar concoction.

I do know that I will never buy this stuff again.

In the meantime, here’s my simple recipe for cream cheese frosting.  This is enough to frost a three-layer cake (click here to see my carrot cake recipe).  Halve this recipe and it should be more than adequate to frost a dozen cupcakes.

Cream Cheese Frosting
  • 4 cups powdered sugar
  • 2 8-ounce packages light cream cheese, room temperature
  • 1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter, room temperature
  • 4 teaspoons vanilla extract (I love vanilla, so I end up being generous here)

Beat all of the ingredients in a bowl until smooth and creamy.

Finally, here’s a pic of our finished cupcake from yesterday.

I Heart Cupcakes

Leave a Reply

