Food-Related Quotes

I wanted to change the by-line of my blog so I spent some time reading a lot of really good, clever, and thought-provoking quotes about cooking, food, and our relationship to food.  I posted some of my favorites here. The first one is the one I ultimately chose.  Enjoy!

  • Food is our common ground, a universal experience. (James Beard)
  • Food is a central activity of mankind and one of the single most significant trademarks of a culture. (Mark Kurlansky)
  • We should look for someone to eat and drink with before looking for something to eat and drink. (Epicurus)
  • When I add a spoon of honey to my tea, I give thanks to a dozen bees for the work of their whole lives. When my finger sweeps the final drop of sweetness from the jar, I know we’ve enjoyed the nectar from over a million flowers. This is what honey is: the souls of flowers, a food to please the gods. Honeyeaters know that to have a joyful heart one must live life like the bees, sipping the sweet nectar from each moment as it blooms. And Life, like the world of honey, has its enchantments and stings. (Ingrid Goff-Maidoff)
  • Cooking is like love. It should be entered into with abandon or not at all. (Harriet van Horne)
  • A recipe has no soul. You, as the cook, must bring soul to the recipe. (Thomas Keller)
  • It’s so beautifully arranged on the plate – you know someone’s fingers have been all over it. (Julia Child)

One comment on “Food-Related Quotes

Leave a Reply

