Savory Spinach, Feta, and Pepper Muffins

Sometimes you come across a recipe that seems so interesting that you just have to try it.  I was browsing through some recipes a few weeks ago and came across this one.  I have never made a savory muffin and these were pretty good – and even better after a day or two in the fridge.

These muffins are great for packing in a lunch, or breakfast on the go, and can be eaten both cold or warm.  Bake them in mini-muffin tins and they’re great for a cocktail party hors d’oeuvre.  The flavor reminded me of a scone or a biscuit, but without the “tanginess” of one.

I think next time I may substitute gorgonzola for the feta and maybe make them with caramelized onions.  Or maybe even smoked salmon (heavenly!) with chives.  The possibilities for ingredients and herb combinations are endless.

The original recipe called for all-purpose flour, but you can use whole wheat in order to make it  slightly more nutritious.  There’s also a little bit of sugar, which, in my opinion, can probably be  halved or even eliminated.

Savory Spinach, Feta, and Roasted Red Pepper Muffins

(makes 12 muffins)

  • 2 1/2 cups flour
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp cayenne pepper
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 3/4 cup milk
  • 1/4 cup vegetable or canola oil
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 cup thinly sliced baby spinach leaves, stems removed
  • 3/4 cup crumbled feta cheese
  • 1/2 cup chopped roasted red peppers from a jar

Preheat oven to 375 degrees.

In a large bowl, mix together flour, sugar, baking powder, cayenne, and salt.  In a separate bowl, whisk together egg, milk and oil.  Add the dry ingredients to the wet and mix gently until the flour is incorporated.  Fold in the spinach, feta, and red pepper.  Divide the batter among 12 muffin cups and bake for about 20 minutes, or until golden on top and a toothpick comes out clean.  Cool completely before unmolding.

2 comments on “Savory Spinach, Feta, and Pepper Muffins

  1. These look yummy. I have a catering job in a few weeks and decided to try them today. They turned out to be nasty, gummy blobs. Turns out I used cornstarch instead of baking powder-same red container. Tomorrow I will wear my glasses and try again! Two quick questions please-Have you ever made them with some cornmeal in the dough? And, how well do they freeze? I would like to make them in advance.

  2. I have made these a number of times….I have not made them with cornmeal. I do however sift the dry ingredients first. They freeze very well. I generally make about a dozen, freeze them, and take them out as needed. Good luck! Let me know how the 2nd try works out!

    Diana

Leave a Reply

